Img 1133

History of the Wood Ranch Area

During the Spanish period, the 5,000-acre spread now known as the Wood Ranch housing development, was known as Cañada Verde, which means ‘green canyon’ in Spanish.

During the pioneer era, Cañada Verde was referred to simply as “The Verde.” In the late 1890s, Charles B. McCoy purchased the old Verde. There was no doubt this land was always used as a cattle ranch. McCoy eventually divided the ranch into two parts, half for his son and half for his daughter.

In 1942, Adrian G. and Emma Grubb Wood bought both parcels and reunited the old Cañada Verde.  It was called Taylor Ranch Company, the same name as their Ventura land holdings.  After Mr. Wood’s death in 1971, the road to the ranch, was renamed from Kujawsky road to Madera.  The word Madera means Wood in Spanish.

In the 1980s the ranch was sold to a company headed by Bob Levenstein, and a housing development was proposed. His first choice of name for the new development was Madera Ranch.  However, because the same name was already used elsewhere, it was denied.  So he called it Wood Ranch. 

Tour of Strathearn Historical Park
  1. Welcome to Strathearn Park!
  2. Strathearn Park's Visitors Center
  3. The Montgomery Playhouse
  4. The Santa Susana Corner
  5. The Original Saint Rose of Lima Church Building
  6. The Strathearn House
  7. The Strathearn Family
  8. California State Historical Landmark #979
  9. The Simi Adobe
  10. The Colony Houses
  11. The Haigh-Talley Colony House
  12. The Printz-Powell Colony House
  13. The Hirschi Monument
  14. The Simi Library
  15. The Pioneer Memory Garden
  16. The Gazebo
  17. History of the Wood Ranch Area
  18. The Wood Ranch Barns
  19. The Currier Apricot Pitting Shed
  20. The Barbershop Building
  21. The Simi Store