Img e1095

The Haigh-Talley Colony House

This Colony House, originally located on Second and Ashland, was the first historic building brought to Strathearn Historical Park soon after its formation in 1970. 

This particular Colony House has had several owners.  Henry and Grace Haigh owned it from 1904 to 1909.  John and Mary Talley owned and lived in it the longest, from 1924 to 1961.  Just before this house was moved to Strathearn Park in 1970, it was the parsonage for the Missionary Alliance Church.

On the porch you can see a diorama depicting the early business district on Los Angeles Avenue.

The next stop is the Printz-Powell Colony house,  which is the yellow house right next door and our newest addition to the park.  These two colony houses are the only ones that remain of the original twelve that were shipped to Simi from Chicago in 1888.

Tour of Strathearn Historical Park
  1. Welcome to Strathearn Park!
  2. Strathearn Park's Visitors Center
  3. The Montgomery Playhouse
  4. The Santa Susana Corner
  5. The Original Saint Rose of Lima Church Building
  6. The Strathearn House
  7. The Strathearn Family
  8. California State Historical Landmark #979
  9. The Simi Adobe
  10. The Colony Houses
  11. The Haigh-Talley Colony House
  12. The Printz-Powell Colony House
  13. The Hirschi Monument
  14. The Simi Library
  15. The Pioneer Memory Garden
  16. The Gazebo
  17. History of the Wood Ranch Area
  18. The Wood Ranch Barns
  19. The Currier Apricot Pitting Shed
  20. The Barbershop Building
  21. The Simi Store