423 West Main Street
Present-Day - Buoy Tender Station Condominiums
Established sometime in the late 1800s. The U. S. Lighthouse Service maintained navigational buoys here for the sounds and rivers of North Carolina. The Lighthouse Tender Holly can be seen at the wharf loading buoys. The keeper's house is shown to the right. It became a U. S. Coast Guard facility in 1938 and was decommissioned in 1962.