The Bill Douglas Cinema Museum is home to one of the largest collections of material on the moving image in Britain. Both an accredited public museum and academic research facility, we have a collection of over 85,000 items. 1,000 items are on display in our Galleries. The Lower Gallery explores the development of pre-cinema visual culture up to 1910 and the Upper Gallery celebrates cinema from 1910 to the present. Everyone is welcome to visit our galleries seven days a week (except bank holidays and between Christmas and New Year) and our research facilities are open to all each weekday. Listen to the audio guide voiced by Peter Jewell, who put the founding collection of the museum together with Bill Douglas, on several of the display cases throughout the museum.