From the 1800s to the present day, Weybridge Post Office has faced many changes. In the Victorian-era, it had a branch office at what is now 'the Old Posthouse’ on the corner of Elgin Road and Heath Road. The construction of a purpose-built Post Office in the centre of Weybridge High Street was begun in September 1912, and opened in February 1914.
Located on the corner of Elmgrove Road, the impressive new building was on the site of the former Portmore Park Farm. When in use, it boasted eight counters, telegram-writing booths, a telephone exchange and roomy sorting-office, and indoor and outdoor letterboxes (the latter of which remains in use). It was commented in local newspapers that “no better provision could possibly be made for the staff, whether at work or at rest” in the new building. Indeed, clerks’ and postmens’ retiring rooms were featured just off the sorting-office, which in turn had access to a back drive for loading vans.
The Post Office was based here until 1993 when it moved to Church Street, but the depot at the back of the old High Street building is still in use today.
Visit Weybridge's current Post Office in Church Street to see the heritage trail panel.