Undergound basilica

The Underground Basilica

The Basilica of Saint Pius X, known as the Underground Basilica, dates from 1958, when the building was completed. It was consecrated by Cardinal Angelo Roncalli - the future Pope John XXIII -  on March the 25th that same year, the centenary of the Apparitions.

It is by far the largest of the basilicas, able to accommodate 25,000 pilgrims.   Around the walls are stained-glass representations of the Stations of the Cross, the Joyful, Sorrowful and Glorious Mysteries of the Rosary, as well as images of various saints and martyrs.

The great advantage of the Underground Basilica is that, because of its size, it can be used for major ceremonies, since none of the other basilicas or chapels are big enough.  The International Mass and other celebrations can take place here, and there is plenty of room for all the wheelchairs, pilgrims  and choirs. The most important of these celebrations has to be The Anointing of the Sick, which is a very moving ceremony, as well as being an essential part of Lourdes.

Lourdes: A Taste of Heaven
  1. The Cachot
  2. 1st Apparition - Bernadette and 'The little lady'
  3. 2nd Apparition - Holy water
  4. 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Apparitions - The promise
  5. 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th Apparitions - The spring of water
  6. 12th, 13th, 14th and 15th Apparitions - The first healing
  7. 16th Apparition - The name
  8. 17th Apparition - Gathering evidence
  9. 18th and Final Apparition - The Declaration
  10. The Stations of the Cross on the hill, and those alongside the river.
  11. The Crypt of the Basilica
  12. The Lower Basilica (often called The Rosary Basilica)
  13. The Upper Basilica, also called The Basilica of the Immaculate Conception
  14. The Torchlight Procession
  15. The Underground Basilica
  16. The Crowned Statue