240 f 107886758 zocblcmlfzkd22ls9326jztz95cqoitn

8th, 9th, 10th and 11th Apparitions - The spring of water

8th Apparition - Wednesday, the 24th of February. 

On this occasion Bernadette told everyone how the Lady had called:

'Penance! Penance! Penance!' Then they saw her kiss the ground.

9th Apparition - Thursday, the 25th of February. 

No-one could understand what Bernadette was doing. They only saw her kneeling on the ground, and digging in the damp floor of the grotto with her bare hands, scooping up handfuls of mud and throwing them on the side, and then it looked as though she was drinking something. When asked why she had done that, Bernadette could only reply that she had been told by the lady to drink at the spring and to wash in it. Everyone, including Bernadette herself, went home wondering what it was all about.

The next day, however, they saw a spring of flowing water. 

[It should be added that water from the sacred spring has since been specially piped to several taps, so that it is available to pilgrims. Pipes have also been connected with the Baths, where pilgrims are able to take a bath - in that same water from the spring.  The Baths are an important feature of Lourdes, as it is at the Baths that miracles have been known to happen].

10th Apparition - Saturday, the 27th of February. 

This time the lady had some instructions for Bernadette, and sent her on a mission. 'Go and tell the priests to build a chapel here'.

Bernadette went to tell her parish priest, Father Peyramale, and told him what the lady had said.  However, he asked Bernadette what the lady's name was and, of course, Bernadette could not tell him, as she did not know it herself.

11th Apparition - Sunday, the 28th of February.

The lady appeared but gave no message this time.

Lourdes: A Taste of Heaven
  1. The Cachot
  2. 1st Apparition - Bernadette and 'The little lady'
  3. 2nd Apparition - Holy water
  4. 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Apparitions - The promise
  5. 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th Apparitions - The spring of water
  6. 12th, 13th, 14th and 15th Apparitions - The first healing
  7. 16th Apparition - The name
  8. 17th Apparition - Gathering evidence
  9. 18th and Final Apparition - The Declaration
  10. The Stations of the Cross on the hill, and those alongside the river.
  11. The Crypt of the Basilica
  12. The Lower Basilica (often called The Rosary Basilica)
  13. The Upper Basilica, also called The Basilica of the Immaculate Conception
  14. The Torchlight Procession
  15. The Underground Basilica
  16. The Crowned Statue