Quad south hall and the old chapel

Quad South Hall – The Old Chapel

The old chapel dates from 1851, and is now used by the Faculty of Arts. It cost £1,050 to build. The old chapel contains stained glass windows telling the Bible story, from Genesis to the Acts of the Apostles. These were the work of Canon Lamb (a former Principal of the University), in collaboration with the artist, Francis H Spear. The modern building was opened in 2007, by the then Poet  Laureate, Andrew Motion.

On leaving the chapel, go through the doors opposite, labelled QS 022. This is the old junior common room. Note the wood panelling, and war memorial above the fire place.

Now, we will head to the Ripon Wing. Retrace your steps back to the Quad. Head out through the passage under the bell tower. Then, turn left and enter Ripon Wing (formerly New Wing) through the first large white door.

York St John University Heritage Trail
  1. Heritage Passage
  2. The Quad
  3. Quad South Hall – The Old Chapel
  4. Ripon Wing
  5. The Peace Garden
  6. Metamorphosis
  7. The Chapel
  8. The Bell Tower
  9. Holgate Building