Taken during its demolition in 1967, this view shows all that remained of a very extensive iron-foundry (clad in reinforced glass). It was the largest building of its kind in Scotland. Built in 1922 for shipbuilders Harland & Wolff of Belfast to make components for marine diesel engines for the company works in Belfast and Finnieston. The firm built up a presence on the Clyde from 1912, with a shipbuilding yard in Govan, and a diesel engine works in Finnieston, as well as existing facilities. The company withdrew from the Clyde in 1962, and its works were demolished.
Photo: John R Hume. Yashika 635 twin-lens reflex camera, digital print