This yard was founded in 1862 by the marine engineering firm A & J Inglis. The building seen here was built from 1864-5 and was iron-framed and timber-clad. It housed the yard’s woodworkers, with the ‘mould loft’ on the top floor, where the full-sized plans of the hulls were laid out. The brick building to the right was the paint store. These buildings were destroyed by fire in 1965 during its demolition.
Photo: John R Hume. Regular 35mm camera, digital print