The grotto with altar

12th, 13th, 14th and 15th Apparitions - The first healing

12th Apparition - Monday, the 1st of March.

The number of onlookers was growing.  Again, the lady appeared, but gave no message.  Meanwhile a woman called Catherine Latapie, whose arm was paralysed after an accident, decided to bathe it in the waters of the spring. She found that afterwards she could move her arm.  After that, a local doctor, Pierre Dozous, began collecting information on healings at the spring.

[A more formal way of recording the miraculous cures at Lourdes began in 1883, with the establishment of the Lourdes Medical Bureau].

13th Apparition - Tuesday, the 2nd of March. 

The lady appeared again and this time repeated her command that a chapel should be built. 'Go and tell the priests to build a chapel here and to come here in procession'. Bernadette went with her two aunts to see her parish priest, Father Peyramale, who asked her again what the lady's name was, and when Bernadette said she didn't know, forbade her to return  to the grotto.

14th Apparition - Wednesday, the 3rd of March. 

 Bernadette again asked the lady to say her name, but later said that the lady only smiled at her. 

15th Apparition - Thursday, the 4th of March. 

Earlier the lady had asked Bernadette to come here for fifteen days, and this was the fifteenth day.  Everyone thought that she would give her name this time. Once more Bernadette asked the lady her name, but she only smiled as before.  The onlookers were disappointed.

The days went by, but the lady did not appear.  They all agreed, however, that on the 25th of March , the feast of the Annunciation, she would come. 

Lourdes: A Taste of Heaven
  1. The Cachot
  2. 1st Apparition - Bernadette and 'The little lady'
  3. 2nd Apparition - Holy water
  4. 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Apparitions - The promise
  5. 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th Apparitions - The spring of water
  6. 12th, 13th, 14th and 15th Apparitions - The first healing
  7. 16th Apparition - The name
  8. 17th Apparition - Gathering evidence
  9. 18th and Final Apparition - The Declaration
  10. The Stations of the Cross on the hill, and those alongside the river.
  11. The Crypt of the Basilica
  12. The Lower Basilica (often called The Rosary Basilica)
  13. The Upper Basilica, also called The Basilica of the Immaculate Conception
  14. The Torchlight Procession
  15. The Underground Basilica
  16. The Crowned Statue