The grotto as bernadette would have known it

3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Apparitions - The promise

3rd Apparition. Thursday, the 18th of February.   

Bernadette went again to the Grotto.  This time the lady spoke.    She  said: 'Will you be good enough to come here everyday for fifteen days?'  She spoke very politely, which no one had ever done before.  Bernadette was thrilled - she was only a servant-girl, and was used to people always speaking roughly to her. This was wonderful!

The lady also said to her: 'I do not promise to make you happy in this world, but in the next'.


4th Apparition.   Friday, the 19th of February.

This time Bernadette's mother, her Aunt Bernarde and some neighbours all accompanied Bernadette to the Grotto.  They each brought a lighted candle. All of them were full of superstition, and were anxious to know who the apparition was, but were worried, so they decided that a candle would protect them.

5th Apparition.  Saturday, the 20th of February.  

News of the apparition was spreading by now to other towns.  Bernadette said that the lady had taught her a prayer; strangely, she didn't then, or at any time in her life, say what the prayer was.

6th Apparition.  Sunday, the 21st of February.

By now the authorities were getting worried, and even the local police were involved, and interrogating Bernadette.  People were holding a lighted candle underneath her hands as she was praying, to see how she would react, but it was evident that Bernadette felt nothing.

7th Apparition. Tuesday, the 23rd of February.

Still more people had come, all curious to know what was happening. On this occasion the apparition lasted an hour, but Bernadette did not tell anyone what the lady had said.

Lourdes: A Taste of Heaven
  1. The Cachot
  2. 1st Apparition - Bernadette and 'The little lady'
  3. 2nd Apparition - Holy water
  4. 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Apparitions - The promise
  5. 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th Apparitions - The spring of water
  6. 12th, 13th, 14th and 15th Apparitions - The first healing
  7. 16th Apparition - The name
  8. 17th Apparition - Gathering evidence
  9. 18th and Final Apparition - The Declaration
  10. The Stations of the Cross on the hill, and those alongside the river.
  11. The Crypt of the Basilica
  12. The Lower Basilica (often called The Rosary Basilica)
  13. The Upper Basilica, also called The Basilica of the Immaculate Conception
  14. The Torchlight Procession
  15. The Underground Basilica
  16. The Crowned Statue